Meet the Team

Share This:

2015 FVFL Board of Directors

Family Values for Life is made up of one part time staff member, an active & passionate Board of Directors, and HUNDREDS of volunteers!

If you would like to make a difference for families on the East Side of St. Paul, e-mail today!

Alfreda Flowers, Executive Director
Alfreda Flowers is the founder and executive director of Family Values For Life, a faith-based program designed to educate, empower and equip adults and youth to make positive lifestyle choices. Alfreda founded Youth Values for Life in 1999 in her local church. Due to demand, the program expanded to additional churches and community organizations. Youth Values for Life was awarded a five year state grant and several local foundational grants.

In 2010 Alfreda renamed the organization to Family Values For Life to focus on the entire family. She developed Family Values For Life based on over 40 years of experience and passion for the working families.

Alfreda’s 40 years of service has included; working and supporting families in her local church, owner of a licensed day care business for 18 years, Home School liaison for St. Paul Public Schools, and a community representative in her community. She served as the Faith-Based Program Manager for the Center for Business Excellence at the University of St. Thomas from 2003 until 2011 when she took an early retirement to work full-time with Family Values for Life.

Since losing her husband in 2005 after 35 years of marriage and raising eight children, Alfreda’s passion for working with families continued to grow. Family Values for Life focuses on the entire family unit. This is done by engaging both parents and children to make a stronger more sustainable impact on the family, and in turn, the entire community.

Since the inception of Family Values For Life Alfreda has received several awards, including but not limited to; ESABA Non Profit Difference Maker 2014, ESABA 2014 David Wagner Daymaker Award, Certificate of Appreciation St. Paul Public Neighborhood Honor Roll 2014, Lead 360 Certificate of Excellence, 2016 Local Legend Award, and Martin Luther King Jr. Award 2016.

Heather Kilgore, Chair of the Board

Keith Turnquist, Co-Chair
Keith brings extensive nonprofit management expertise and dedication to building strong partnerships with other community organizations. He has more than 15 years of experience working with nonprofit boards. Keith has a deep commitment to the East Side community. He currently serves as the Board Chair of the Payne-Phalen Living at Home Block Nurse Program and is an active member of First Covenant Church. Keith also served as a board volunteer for Care in Action Minnesota. For 35 years Keith worked for the 3M International Logistics department. He received an M.B.A from the University of St. Thomas and a B.S. in Business from the University of Minnesota.

Lucy Zanders, Treasurer
Lucy is the MLK Breakfast Coordinator and Community Organizer for the Saint Paul Area Council of Churches. As Treasurer of the Board, she brings over 30 years of professional finance experience in both the business and nonprofit sectors. Lucy received a degree in Accounting and Finance from Gustavus Adolphus College. She has worked in finance, audit and manufacturing accounting for companies such as Control Data, Gould Battery, Rogers Cable System, Anchor Hocking and the Gillette Company. Lucy has worked at various Minnesota nonprofit organizations including: Saint Paul Area Council of Churches, as Interim Executive Director of Finance and Administration; The Link, as Program Director; and New Hope Baptist Church, as Community Resource Organizer. Dedicated to fostering youth development, Lucy has volunteered for the Minnesota State Baptist Convention Youth Department, Children and Youth Ministry of New Hope Baptist Church, St. Paul Public Schools as a reading and math tutor, Junior Achievement of America, Advisory Board for Globe School of Accounting Program, Theresa Living Center-Caroline Services Board Member, Volunteers of America, Women’s Recovery Center and Red Wing Juvenile Correctional Facility.

Lu Brackett, Secretary

Clare Gooding

Tyrone Brookins

Jabari Barner

Comments are closed